Kathleen Murray Named Whitman’s New President

Aleida Fernandez

Photo by Marcovici
Photo by Marcovici

Dr. Kathleen Murray has been named Whitman College’s 14th president. Murray is the former Provost and Dean of Faculty at Macalaster College in Minnesota. Murray was selected from a nationwide search of about 100 candidates.

The search committee, which was composed of staff members, faculty members and students, recommended Murray to the Board of Trustees after a seven-month search. Current president George Bridges announced his resignation last spring.

“We had this amazing pool of applicants, but you get one president. We were fortunate that one person really stood out,” said Chair of the Board of Trustees, Brad McMurchie of Murray. “[Murray] combined distinction in academy with a rich history of leadership roles at liberal arts institutions. [She] displayed an intelligence, a warmth, and a wisdom that outshined above the rest. [Murrary] displayed a vision to advance Whitman to new heights.”

In her statement to the college, Murray said that she is committed to working with the community to help shape the future of the school.

“I told the search committee that if I had the privilege of becoming the 14th president of Whitman College, I would work with the community to shape the vision for the next pivotal faze of the college’s history. I told them it would be hard work and that we wouldn’t always agree, but the opportunity to change students lives… is the most important and rewarding work I can imagine doing in my professional life, and I can’t wait to start engaging in that work with you,” said Murray.

Murray will begin her presidency in July 2015.

There will be an informal reception with Murray at Reid Ballroom today from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.

To hear what Murray has to say about the liberal arts, Whitman and her vision for the college’s future, click here for her interview with the The Pioneer.

Correction: In a previous version of this article, it stated that Murray’s presidency would begin in July 2014. It will actually begin in July 2015.