Theta, Indie Men and Schwa take choral contest titles

Aleida Fernandez

The 86th Annual Whitman Choral Contest returned to campus Friday, April 29 in Cordiner Hall. Kappa Alpha Theta, Independent Men and Schwa each took their respective categories. The three traditional awards––Best Male Group (independent or Greek group), Best Female Group (independent or Greek group) and Best Interlude Performance (acappella group)––were given along with the new People’s Choice Award, selected by the audience. Independent Men continued their winning streak from last year for Best Male Group while the Thetas and Schwa upset last years winners in Best Female Group and Best Interlude Performance respectively. The People’s Choice Award, which was awarded based on the number of $1 donations the group received, went to Adriel and the Serenadriels. The charity of the winning team will receive all the proceeds.