Vol. CLIII, Issue 10
Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Senate and House election updates

2022 Election Coverage Team, 2022 Election Coverage Team

The Wire will be providing updates on elections across the U.S. We will be using data provided by the Associated Press, FiveThirtyEight, The Washington Post and The New York Times.


The Democrats have secured 50 seats and the Republicans 49. There are 51 seats open.

Nov. 12, 7:00 p.m. PDT: Catherine Cortez Masto, Democrat, wins in Nevada.

Nov. 12, 6:21 a.m. PDT: Mark Kelly, Democrat, wins in Arizona.

Nov. 11 update: Three states will decide the Senate in key races to watch: Arizona, Georgia and Nevada.

11:24 a.m. PDT: The race between Herschel Walker and Democratic incumbent Raphael Warnock for Georgia’s second Senate seat will go to a runoff. Neither candidate passed the 50% threshold to win the race outright. The runoff will be held on December 6 with just Walker and Warnock on the ballot.

Nov. 9, 9:46 a.m. PDT: Ron Johnson, Republican, wins re-election in Wisconsin.

10:30 p.m. PDT update: The Election Coverage Team is taking a break due to a lack of additional information.  We will start updating this page again Wednesday morning, or when any big changes occur.

10:00 p.m. PDT: John Fetterman, Democrat, wins in Pennsylvania.

9:10 p.m. PDT: Patty Murray, Democrat, wins re-election in Washington.

9:00 p.m. PDT: Brian Schatz, Democrat, wins re-election in Hawaii.

8:49 p.m. PDT: Ted Budd, Republican, wins election in North Carolina.

8:45 p.m. PDT: Ron Wyden, Democrat, wins re-election in Oregon.

8:39 p.m. PDT: Maggie Hassan, Democrat, wins re-election in New Hampshire.

8:19 p.m. PDT: J.D. Vance, Republican, wins election in Ohio.

8:03 p.m. PDT: Chuck Grassley, Republican, wins re-election in Iowa.

8:00 p.m. PDT: Alex Padilla, Democrat, wins re-election in California.

8:00 p.m. PDT: Mike Crapo, Republican, wins re-election in Idaho.

7:55 p.m. PDT: John Kennedy, Republican, wins re-election in Louisiana.

7:12 p.m. PDT: Eric Schmitt, Republican, wins election in Missouri.

7:09 p.m. PDT: Michael Bennet, Democrat, wins re-election in Colorado.

6:00 p.m. PDT: Charles Schumer, Democrat, wins re-election in New York.

6:00 p.m. PDT: Jerry Moran, Republican, wins re-election in Kansas.

6:00 p.m. PDT: John Thune, Republican, wins re-election in South Dakota.

6:00 p.m. PDT: John Hoeven, Republican, wins re-election in North Dakota.

5:30 p.m. PDT: John Boozman, Republican, wins re-election in Arkansas.

5:26 p.m. PDT: Todd Young, Republican, wins re-election in Indiana.

5:17 p.m. PDT: Marco Rubio, Republican, wins re-election in Florida.

5:00 p.m. PDT: Markwayne Mullin, Republican, wins election in Oklahoma.

5:00 p.m. PDT: James Lankford, Republican, wins re-election in Oklahoma.

5:00 p.m. PDT: Chris Van Hollen, Democrat, wins re-election in Maryland.

5:00 p.m. PDT: Richard Blumenthal, Democrat, wins re-election in Connecticut.

5:00 p.m. PDT: Tammy Duckworth, Democrat, wins re-election in Illinois.

4:14 p.m. PDT: Rand Paul, Republican, wins re-election in Kentucky.

4:00 p.m. PDT: Peter Welch, Democrat, wins election in Vermont.

Nov. 8, 4:00 p.m. PDT: Tim Scott, Republican, wins re-election in South Carolina.



The Democrats have secured 210 seats and the Republicans 218. The Republicans seized control of the House on Nov. 16 with 218 seats.

Nov. 9, 11:10 a.m. PDT: Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Republican, wins House seat in Washington (District 5).


For more analysis and in-depth results on key races, check out this week’s episode of “The Whitman Wire Podcast,” releasing at 11 a.m. on Friday, Nov. 11. Full episodes of the podcast can be found on Spotify, Google Podcasts, Overcast or wherever you listen to your podcasts.


The 2022 Election Coverage Team consists of Abby Malzewski, Editor-in-Chief; Zac Bentz, Publisher; Annalie Reed, Chief Copy Editor; Gillian Mackay-Brown, Managing Editor; Bex Heimbrock, Opinion Editor; and Kasey Moulton, Podcast Editor. 

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

All Whitman Wire Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *