Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Vol. CLIV, Issue 10
Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Whitman news since 1896

Whitman Wire

Michael Baumgartner’s WA-05 Campaign

Sebastian Squire, News Editor April 25, 2024

Michael Baumgartner, a former Republican state senator and the current treasurer of Spokane County, is running to replace Cathy McMorris Rodgers in the House of Representatives with a platform that he...

New Legislative District Boundaries in Washington State

Sybella Ssewakiryanga, News Reporter April 4, 2024

On Friday, March 15, U.S. District Court Judge Robert Lasnik selected new boundaries for legislative districts in Central Washington after rejecting a proposed map in August 2023. This comes before a March...

Illustration by Uma Bratt

Lack of Enthusiasm Around Upcoming Primaries

Oliver Kaufman, News Reporter February 15, 2024

The Washington state presidential primary on March 12 approaches rapidly, yet many students lack enthusiasm about the election.  In past years, Whitman students have been amongst the top voting...

Voting at Whitman

On Nov. 7, 2023, elections were held across the nation and in Walla Walla County. Multiple School Director Positions, along with City Council positions, and Port Commissioners were on the ballot. Students...

Candidates for the Upcoming General Election Vow to Listen to Citizens

Ansley Peard, News Reporter October 26, 2023

On Nov. 7, Walla Walla County will hold its 2023 General Election. Walla Walla county is a vote-by-mail county with approximately 37,000 voters.  The Walla Walla City Council is composed of seven members...

Walla Walla School Board Elections: What Do the Candidates Have to Say?

Sebastian Vera Cuevas, News Reporter October 26, 2023

On Oct. 4 at 6 p.m. PST, the American Association of University Women (AAUW)-Walla Walla and the Walla Walla Valley Chamber of Commerce invited voters and observers in Walla Walla County to attend the...

ASWC candidates take the debate stage

Alexa Grechishkin, Campus Life Reporter April 13, 2023

On April 6, six candidates running for ASWC positions made the case for their election in the Reid Campus Center basement. The participants pulled out all the stops to convince voters to mark their name...

Illustration by Holly VanVoorhis.

Crossfire: American democracy

Isabel Mathy and Natalie Comerford November 17, 2022

"The winner of the midterms: gerrymandering" - Isabel Mathy Alabama’s seventh and Louisiana’s second are the only congressional districts Democrats won in the two states on brutally gerrymandered...

Photo by Nathaniel Martin.

Walla Walla local elections wrap-up

Naia Willemsen, News Reporter November 18, 2021

Tuesday, Nov. 2 marked election day around the country, including here in Walla Walla. Voters were casting their ballot to fill five local positions: city council positions one (south ward), two (central...

Walla Walla City Council and School Board elections approach

Naia Willemsen, Reporter September 30, 2021

While 2021 is not a major election year, there is still an opportunity to vote in the Walla Walla City Council and school board race. Many Whitman students face the question of where they can vote....

Illustration by Lily Buller.

National youth voter turnout increases; Washington breaks 40-year turnout record

Grace Jackson, Staff Reporter November 12, 2020

Though the full picture is still coming together, youth voter turnout is on pace to outstrip turnout levels in 2016. Tufts University CIRCLE projects that the final results will show that between 53–56...

ASWC E.C. Elections– The Results Are In

ASWC E.C. Elections– The Results Are In

Nick Maahs, Staff Reporter April 12, 2018

Polls closed for the ASWC Executive Council elections on Monday, April 9 at 8:00 p.m.  Shortly over an hour after, ASWC announced the results to the student body via email. ASWC’s Executive Council...

Load More Stories