Senate Reconvenes for Spring Semester

Tyler Maule, ASWC Copy Editor

In a prompt start to the Spring Semester, ASWC’s Senate convened on Sunday to discuss club leadership, support Slam Poetry, and confirm a new Ombudsperson. President Percival celebrated ASWC coverage in the Union Bulletin about a Resolution’s “sex assault legislation opposition” as well as myWhitman’s newly added pre-registration form about preferred gender pronouns. He also introduced a “tri-college collaboration” with Walla Walla University and Walla Walla community college. Sustainability Director Dani Hupper, meanwhile, anticipated the growth of the Bike Share Program and progress on upcoming carbon tax legislation. The first-year delegation reported on their participation in a Mascot Working Group and outreach to other Panel 13 colleges.

Josie Furbershaw, ASWC’s Club Director, reviewed a survey of twenty-nine student clubs to encourage greater support of student organizations. She noted their appreciation of strong core membership and organized communication, and mentioned that many desired more funding and increased attendance. Ultimately, Furbershaw called upon Senators to communicate with and assist their three to four assigned clubs.

Senate welcomed Almighty Ink and approved funding for their attendance of CUPSI, a national college slam poetry competition. In addition to hosting upwards of sixty colleges in a competitive capacity, CUPSI offers writing sessions and promotes social awareness. Whitman’s team is intent on “bringing positive energy back to [the] school,” and Paige Dempsey graciously performed a polished poem for the Senate. For the first time in Senate history, two Senators were equally eligible for the position of Ombudsperson because they have served the same number of semesters on ASWC. Following substantial debate regarding the voting process, incumbent Ombudsman Mitch Cutter was elected to serve his second semester. Cutter affirmed the importance of continuity and looks forward to scheduling more one-on-one’s with Senate members.